Who is responsible if things go wrong post-op?

This may be a lame FNG question but I am trying to plot out worst case scenarios as I prepare for my HT. I am going with Feller, Bernstein, or Dorin depending on how the January consults go so I have done some homework.

Hypothetically, if things go wrong post transplant surgery (e.g. massive infection, all of my hair falls out, debiliting illness brought on by surgery, hospitalization, etc), who foots the bill? I am speaking in the context that I would follow all post-op directions to the letter and do everything I am supposed to do correctly. Is the doctor responsible in any way, shape, or form OR am I am on my own (hoping my HMO will cover it)?

Does anyone have any experience with, or knowledge of, really, really bad surgery related problems and what the ultimate resolutions were?

Good question but I am no lawyer. I would imagine if it is a "mistake" on the docs side they would be but they do have you sign a waiver of some sort. HT is a minor surgery so the chances for a disaster is minimal. Just follow directions and you should be fine.. I hd 3 of them without any issues.

JOBI

1417 FUT - Dr. True

1476 FUT - Dr. True

2124 FUT - Dr. True

604 FUE - Dr. True

My views are based on my personal experiences, research and objective observations. I am not a doctor.

Total - 5621 FU's uncut!

Example of patients error :

I know of 2 cases where patient where responsible for less regrowth.

1. Hit the head while getting in the car immediately after surgery

2. Hit the crown on a low level ceiling 1 day after surgery.

Both patient lost some grafts immediately. It was not possible to place them again because they where contaminated and of course long dried out.

Althoug both patient lost grafts it did not affect the result in a visible way.

Consultant-co owner Prohairclinic (FUE only) in Belgium, Dr. De Reys.