exposure to the sun, 3 weeks post-op, no hat but had sunscreen

Hi,

During a hot sunny day (86 degrees fahrenheit) with no clouds, 3 weeks FUE post op, if wearing factor 50, and reapplied throughout the day, will it be ok to not wear a hat? I'm hosting something work-based, and I really can't wear a hat, but sunscreen is no problem.

Thanks very much :)

Three weeks is very early. I'd also suggest avoiding direct and prolonged sun exposure for several more weeks. What does your hair transplant surgeon advise?

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

That's not ideal, probably not catastrophic if you mitigated exposure, but let's error on the side of caution in the future for the peace of mind that you're doing everything in your power not to accidentally thwart the final results.

Hair loss patient and transplant veteran. Once a Norwood 3A.

Received 2,700 grafts with coalition doctor on 8/13/2010

Received 2,380 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 9/30/2011

Received 1,820 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 7/28/2016

Is it possible to get under a large table umbrella or something like that where you are not directly exposed to the sun?

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

Is there any way you can wear a hat that's somewhat more professional than a typical cap? I was able to wear one of those 50s style paper boy hats at work for a month or so after my HT. I just told my employers I had a medical procedure and needed to keep my scalp covered and nobody asked any questions.