Long term finasteride effect

Hi all, 

I've been using finasteride for around 15 years, it has worked great until this year. Now my hair is thinning considerably and the benefits of finasteride appear to no longer work. I started Minoxidil in Jan too but there is no improvement

Does finasteride eventually have no effect? I'm looking at PRP as an alternative, going down the researching route, as there are many different PRP systems 

Whilst I understand we lose around 100 per day, is it normal when washing hair to have around 20 hairs every morning on my hands or is this type of shedding not normal? I'm wondering if the minoxidil is still doing this but I don't see hairs being replaced i.e. Shorter hairs coming through 

Thanks

• Valued Contributor
1 hour ago, Orbital123 said:

is it normal when washing hair to have around 20 hairs every morning on my hands or is this type of shedding not normal?

The amount of hair loss you're experiencing is normal, but it's always good to monitor it. It's great that you've been on finasteride for so long without any side effects.

If your hair loss progresses, you might consider adding dutasteride to your regimen to help stabilize it. Oral Minoxidil takes more time, so you should stay on it for a full year before evaluating the results.

However, don't do this on your own; it's always best to consult a reputable hair transplant surgeon and create a medication plan under their guidance.

Check Out My Hair Transplant Journey

--> My Thread

3611 FUE Grafts With Dr Kongkiat Laorwong | Norwood 5 | 2nd May 2023 

I used oral Finasteride for 1 year and developed gynocomastia of grade 2 so i had to stop this drug, even i was taking only 1 mg every alternate day....currently using 0.1% topical Finasteride mixed wid 10% Minoxidil, 5 mg oral Minoxidil and 800 mg saw Palmetto without any side effect to maintain my 10k grafts hair transplant result....