Help needed!! 25 years old male feeling depressed about hair loss. Any Progress? Should I consider for hair transplant?

Hello fellow hair enthusiasts,

First of all, thank you all for providing such great content and valuable information here.

I’m a 25-year-old male, and I’ve been experiencing hair loss, mainly a receding hairline, since I was 20. I've genetic baldness running in my maternal side.

I’ve had a high forehead and a mature hairline even before my 20s.

Last December, I got a buzz cut, and it was devastating to see how much my hairline had receded.

I was extremely depressed for about 5-6 months and still haven’t fully recovered emotionally. Initially, I consulted with a dermatologist who recommended Redensyl along with ketoconazole. Unfortunately, after 3.5 months of use, my hair loss only increased, with no signs of improvement.

I then consulted another dermatologist, who prescribed minoxidil and finasteride two months later. I’ve been using minoxidil for 5 months and finasteride for 3 months. My hair fall has slowed down and is now back to the baseline state it was before starting Redensyl.

The reduction in hair fall became noticeable around the 3-month mark of using finasteride. Minoxidil, on the other hand, hasn’t had much effect, but I’m continuing to use it as advised by my dermatologist.

I’ve also been considering a hair transplant for my receding hairline. Recently, I consulted with Dr. Sunnet Soni in Jaipur, India. He advised against a transplant at this stage due to the potential for future hair loss and noted that my hair density is still good, and my hairline hasn’t receded too far. I appreciated his honest assessment.

My routine:

1. Minoxidil every evening at 7 PM.

2. Finsteride every night before going to bed

3. Ketoconazole 2 times a week.

4. Alternative day shampoo/hair wash